Introduction to the Magnificent Seven Chakras

Yogic physiology deals with layers or networks of our being.
Our physical body is one such layer, and is quite real to us because our 5 or so senses can detect it.
Yoga proposes other dimensions of us which yogis became aware of due to their effects rather than being able to sense them directly.
• It’s not such a stretch if you think about the radio waves that travel through our bodies all the time- we are unaware of them unless we turn on the radio.
• Or the presence of UV light, until our skin is burned or we use a special camera.

Yoga recognises a system of centres in the individual called chakras and these will be our theme for this term.

When we deal with the chakras we are dealing with our energy body, which resides around and in our physical bodies. The number of chakras and their details vary between texts but in simplified interpretations there are seven main chakras located along the spinal axis from the base of the body to crown of head.
• Can be imagined as a series of concentrations of energy ascending along the axis of the spine
• Encapsulate the body’s main physical, mental and spiritual aspects.
• Don’t have a physical presence, but they do have a physical plane where they relate to major nerve plexi, hormonal systems, organs and surrounding muscles and joints.
• Have energy and personality aspects as well as various colours, sounds and elements assigned to them

Whether you choose to see them as real, symbolic, or a system to map your attention on the complex creature that you are…
…the Chakras are a great framework for self-exploration, and be used to attain a better balance in all areas of life.

Because of their alignment we’ll be concentrating this term on spine and core. We will also be working on strength and stability in the legs, and emphasising moving with the breath and working comfortably with change.

This term we will work through:
• Muladhara
o the base chakra situated at the base of the body
• Swadhistana
o at the level of the sacrum in the pelvis
• Manipura
o in the area behind the navel
• Anaharta
o in the area of the heart
• Vishuddi
o in the spinal area within the throat
• Ajna
o in the centre of the brain behind the eyebrow centre
• Sahasrara
o at the top of the head